Ohio State Senior Ellen Maynard’s take on video artist Leslie Thornton’s, “Twice Removed.” I saw Thornton’s video a few weeks ago as part of the Annie Leibovitz exhibition at the Wexner Center of the Arts in Columbus. Like Maynard states, the video creates the effect of “Esho Funi,” a Japanese term for the Buddhist concept of the oneness of life and its environment.

Find out more on Thornton’s piece here: http://www.filmlinc.com/pages/twice-removed

esho funi

Do you remember looking through kaleidoscopes when you were a kid? I never tire of looking at the spectacle of images that kaleidoscopes make.

Kaleidoscope and mirror image are two effects I have used in my recent experimentation with abstracting the video footage I have shot for my senior project. Here is test footage of the floor to celling screen, with projection of my footage in various mirror effects. We used the program called Isadora to do this, at the ACCAD EMMA lab at The Ohio State University. I like how this effect makes literal the term, esho funi, “oneness with the environment”.

You can see how excited I was then, to hear about a kaleidoscope video of nature and animals at the Wexner Center for the Arts. This video, Twice Removed, by well known video artist Leslie Thornton, was both subtle and powerful. The…

View original post 95 more words

Leave a Reply

