Claire Sherman and Brendan Monroe

Two artists that I have been obsessed with lately are Claire Sherman and Brendan Monroe. Both painters intrigue me in their fluid approach to landscape.

Sherman is interested in the sublime, and draws inspiration from the writings of Edmund Burke, Immanuel Kant, and Jean-Francois Lyotard, which discussed the sublime and the beauty of the natural world. Her main body of work consists of landscapes painted with oil on canvas. “Boulders” and “Swamp II” are two of my favorites:

Boulders

“Boulders” | Claire Sherman

swampii

“Swamp II” | Claire Sherman

Sherman’s work has directly influenced my most recent painting, which is a landscape based off of a picture I took at Farm Sanctuary this summer (will post documentation soon!). Farm Sanctuary is a place where rescued factory farm animals live out their lives in peace. During a meeting with one of my professors today, we discussed which mediums (to mix with oil paint) would best create an effect similar to that of Sherman’s. I am going to look into some sort of an Impasto medium for oil paint. My professor also pointed out that Sherman most likely uses sedimentary colors, which are colors that have larger particles which can become suspended in a medium. Some of these colors include Burnt Sienna, Burnt Umber, Raw Sienna, Raw Umber, Yellow Ochre, Gold Ochre, Indian Red, Venetian Red, Asphaltum, Van Dyke Brown, Transparent Earth Orange, Transparent Earth Red, and Transparent Earth Yellow.

Brendan Monroe is an artist that I have only recently discovered. On his website, he explains, “My interpretations of the world are mostly rooted in science then executed through painting and sculpting. These are the best ways for me to communicate, but I always enjoy making other things as well.” In other sources, I’ve read that he deals with consciousness. His paintings are insanely beautiful and I cannot wait to study more of his work.

Brendan Monroe

“Stuck” | Brendan Monroe

brendan monroe 2

“Divide” | Brendan Monroe

Leave a Reply

